top of page
Search
Kyle Myers

Water Pressure Issues.

Updated: Jun 3, 2021

I have noticed a lot of people on Facebook reaching out about water pressure issues in our area, so I wanted to share what I have learned. Please note that I am not a plumber, so if you are unsure, please consult a professional plumber.


Low water pressure, blockages, and/or sediment can be an issue in multiple areas of your home. Lets focus on what we can do as homeowners to alleviate the issue.


(Here is my story)

My issues started within one year of my house being built. My hot water would not flow in my home, but the cold water flowed fine. Initially, I did not know what was going on and was frustrated. Good news was my home was still under warranty. I called out the plumber who worked on the house, and we found that the tankless water heater had a major buildup of scale and sediment. He flushed the water heater with a descaler solution, and we got hot water flow back. I asked him what I can do to prevent this in the future, he stated "prevention is the key", as well as recommending a whole home water filter.



Prevention:


Here is the whole house filter I put in.


I installed it after the main water valve and water pressure regulator valve to my house.

This is a picture of my filter after the first month.

I like the course 50 micron filter it allows for the most water flow. Smaller micron filters do filter better and get more particles out of the water, but also restricts water flow. Remember we are trying to increase water flow not decrease it. I keep extra filters on hand for emergencies.



You should change the filter every 6 months or more often if needed.


For do-it-yourselfers, I really like Shark Bites you can get at Home Depot or Amazon.


Shark bite



Other possible issues:


Faucet(s) level: (Note: these steps can fix leaky faucets as well.)








Cartridge will very based your fixtures installed.




Water Heater Level:

· Traditional Water Heater = https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hs5N7HyDUWo



Turn off Gas and/or unplug power before you flush it.









o Some people use distilled Vinegar. I found using this was better if not diluted with water. I have tried it and I seem to have to flush more often. I find I have to flush at the same time I change out the filter.


Some Tankless water heaters have a filter that may need to be cleaned.




Whole House hot and cold water:

  • Water Pressure Regulator Valve (Be very careful with this you can ruin appliances or water fixtures in your home if set higher than 70 psi. )



  • You can work with a plumber and the water company to upgrade your water meter valve to a one-inch valve opening. Aslo a one inch line to your home will increase your water flow and pressure over a 1/2 or 3/4 inch valve or line, but changing this valve or line out is very expensive. It's best to get this done when you first build your home.



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page